Would You Die For Me, Daddy?

Coach Daddy

photo credit: Kalexanderson via photopin cc photo credit: Kalexanderson via photopincc

“Would you die for me, daddy?”

Grace tiptoed behind me into the kitchen to ask her question.

She knows I love her, because I always hold out six plain wings for her 8-year-old taste buds when I make them spicy for her sisters and I kiss her face and sing songs about her even if she doesn’t particularly want me to right then.

“Would you die for me?”

To die for her would be to let her down in a way, so I have to measure my words carefully.

How do you tell a baby that yes, you’d die for her, but that you’d rather not? It’s better to stick around for when she starts middle school and high school and finds the going rough on the soccer field or in home room or in the mall when a friend thinks it’s a great…

View original post 534 more words

Leave a Reply

